Obtaining a Marriage License
Copies of the License
- A marriage license application must be obtained in person at the District Court Clerk's Office.
- Either person to be married may apply for the Marriage License.
- There is a 3-day wait after filing the application. Once issued, the license is effective for a period of six (6) months from the date of issue.
- You must be at least 18 years of age to apply without parental consent.
- Blood tests are not required.
- You will need to bring your driver's license or social security card to the District Court Clerk's Office.
- The fee for a Marriage License is $85.50 to be paid in cash upon issuance.
- The ceremony can take place in any county within the State of Kansas by a person authorized by law to perform ceremonies.
- Witnesses must be at least 18 years of age.
- For more information contact the District Court Clerk's Office at (785) 863-2461.
To request copies of marriage licenses, contact the State of Kansas Office of Vital Statistics
at (785) 296-1400 or the District Court Clerk's Office at (785) 863-2461.